GAeF PhD Award


GAeF PhD Award

GAeF Award for outstanding PhD in Aerosol Science

The "GAeF PhD award" will honour young researchers for their

excellent PhD theses.

Committee members: Anne Maisser, Otmar Schmid, Birgit Wehner, Christof Asbach, Claudia Mohr






Regulations and Procedures

1. Award

(a) The GAeF PhD Award is intended to recognize internationally successful young scientists whose ideas have provided decisive stimulus in their area of aerosol research and who are recognized as outstanding among their peers in their field. The award consists of a certificate and a donation of 1.000 € per award.

(b) The distinction is based on an outstanding doctoral thesis that has been submitted no more than 2 years before the call for nominations. The GAeF PhD Award can be annually awarded to a maximum of two early career scientists. However, it will be only awarded if a nominee’s scientific achievements are beyond doubt and it will be only awarded to nominees who meet the high standards.

(c) The award will be conferred by the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF) during the annual European Aerosol Conference or the quadrennial International Aerosol Conference. The name(s) and achievements of the awardee(s) will be published in the Journal of Aerosol Science and on the GAeF homepage.

2. The Award Committee

(a) The award committee is composed of at least five members of the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF), representing the topical diversity of aerosol science. The actual number is decided by the board of GAeF. The members of the committee are elected by the GAeF board for a period of 3 years, with one possible prolongation. The award committee elects a chair person during an election that is led by the past chair person. In case of impediment the president of GAeF leads the election. The past chair person is a member of the GAeF PhD Award Committee ex officio.

(b) The names of the members of the award committee are listed on the GAeF web page.

3. Nominations

(a) The GAeF PhD Award Committee solicits nominations of candidates from scientists working in the field of aerosol science. Nominations need to comply with the regulations issued by the GAeF PhD Award Committee as posted on the home page of GAeF and by public announcement in the Journal of Aerosol Science and/or other scientific publications.

(b)  Nominations should be sent to the chairman of the GAeF PhD Award Committee before 1 May of each year. Self-nominations are excluded.

(c) Nomination is made by a full letter of support including a curriculum vitae and a bibliography. The letter should include at least one specific reference to an outstanding work of the nominee

(d) The nominee does not need to be a member of GAeF or any other aerosol association.

(e) Nominations may be carried over to the following award year by a re-nomination letter.

4. Selection

(a) The committee will review all eligible nominations in closed session. Each member of the GAeF PhD Award Committee discloses possible conflicts of interest and collaborations with the proposed candidates. After a discussion of the candidates, the GAeF PhD Award Committee votes on the candidates. The voting procedures are decided by the GAeF PhD Award Committee. If the award committee discusses a candidate coming from the institution of one of the members of the committee, this member is neither allowed to speak about this candidate, nor to vote.

(b) The award committee has the discretionary power to not select an awardee in any given period.

(c) A copy of the minutes of the session is sent to the Secretary General of GAeF.


Winners of the GAeF PhD Award

2018 Eirini Goudeli

2019 Yang Wang & Andreas Güntner

2020 Georgios Kelesidis