top of page

The Smoluchowski Award shall be given to a young researcher who has achieved and published new results in aerosol science …


The Smoluchowski Award, named after the physicist Marian Smoluchowski (1872-1917), recognizes significant research contributions to all fields of aerosol science and technology except for those fields covered by the Schmauss Award.

Committee members: tba.


* final deadline

30 April 2025

Marian Smoluchowski

Regulations common to the Schmauss Award
and the Smoluchowski Award (1. February 2023)

Both awards recognize outstanding young aerosol scientists, the Schmauss Award in the field related of atmospheric aerosols, the Smoluchowski Award in any other area of aerosol science and technology. 


We encourage applications from women and ethnic minorities, who are currently under-represented among the past awardees. For further questions you may directly contact the members of the award committee or the GAeF board.


Winners of previous Smoluchowski awards that combined all fields of aerosol science including atmospheric aerosols and aerosol technology:

1986 Paul E. Wagner

1987 Helmut Bunz

1988 Andreas Schmidt-Ott

​1989 Leon Gradon

​1990 Richard C. Flagan

​1991 Reinhard Niessner

​1992 David Y. H. Pui + Andrey V. Filippov

​1993 Vladek. Szymanski

​1994 Heinz Burtscher + Wolfgang Möller

​1995 Sotiris E. Pratsinis + Michael Shapiro

​1996 Sergey Grinshpun

​1997 Markku Kulmala

​1998 K. A. Prather + Alfonso M. Gañán-Calvo

​1999 Ian J. Ford

2000 Einar Kruis

2001 Alfred P. Weber + D.A. Edwards

​2002 Da-Ren Chen

​2003 Ignacio González Loscertales

​2004 Colin O`Dowd

​2005 Lutz Mädler

​2006 Jean-Pascal Borra

​2007 Veli-Matti Kerminen

​2008 Markus Kalberer + Thomas Koop

​2009 Suwan Jayasinghe​

2010 Wendelin J. Stark + Martin Seipenbusch​2011 Albert G. Nasibulin + Jing Wang

​2012 no winner

​2013 James D. Allan + Christopher J. Hogan Jr. + Maosheng Yao

​2014 Ilona Riipinen

​2015 Andreas Kürten

​2016 Alexandra Teleki

​2017 Mikael Kristian Ehn +Mikko Juhani Sipilä

​2018 Jingkun Jiang

bottom of page