Schmauss Award

Schmauss Award

The Schmauss Award, named after the physicist / meteorologist August Schmauss (1877-1952), is intended to recognize significant research contribution to atmospheric aerosol science.


Committee members: Gerhard Kasper, Alfred Weber, Birgit Wehner, Thorsten Hoffmann, Andreas Kürten

Winners of the Schmauss Award

2018 Jay Slowik & Rujin Huang

2019 Bernadett Weinzierl & Rajan K. Chakrabarty

2020 Yafang Cheng & Claudia Mohr

Common regulations for the Schmauss Award and the Smoluchowski Award (4. April 2020)

These two awards are intended to be granted to outstanding young scientists in Aerosol Science, the Schmauss Award in the field of atmospheric aerosols, the Smoluchowski Award in any other area of aerosol science and technolgy. 

The Schmauss Award, named after the physicist / meteorologist August Schmauss (1877-1952), is intended to recognize significant research contribution to atmospheric aerosol science. The Smoluchowski Award, named after the physicist Marian Smoluchowski (1872-1917), is intended to recognize significant research contribution to all other fields of aerosol science.

1. Award

(a) The awards shall be given to young researchers (as a rule under 40 years of age) who have achieved and published new results in the corresponding fields of aerosol science in the preceding 3 years. Each award may be shared by two individuals judged to be equally meritorious.

(b) The awards will be conferred by the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF) during the annual European Aerosol Conference or the International Aerosol Conference. 

2. The Award Committee

(a) Each of the award committees is composed of at least four members of the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF). The actual number is decided by the board of GAeF. The members of the committees are elected by the GAeF board for a period of 3 years, with one possible prolongation. The award committees elect one chairman for both committees, the election is led by the past chairman. In case of impediment the president of GAeF leads the election. The past chairman is a member of both committees ex officio for one period of 3 years.

(b) The names of the members of the award committee are listed on the GAeF web page.

3. Nominations

(a) The Schmauss/Smoluchowski Award Committees of GAeF invite nominations of candidates by members of EAA Aerosol Associations working in the corresponding field of aerosol science.  Regulations issued by the Schmauss/Smoluchowski Award Committee are posted on the home page of GAeF

(b) Nominations should be sent before 1 May of each year to the chairman of the corresponding Award Committee. Any researcher, active in aerosol science, is eligible and may be nominated by members of EAA Aerosol Associations.

(c) A nomination is made by a full letter of justification including a curriculum vitae and a bibliography. The letter should include at least one specific reference to an outstanding work of the nominee. The nomination should include no more than three supporting letters,  

(d) The nominee need not be a member of the aerosol organizations.

(e) Nominations may be carried over to the following award by a renomination letter.

4. Selection

(a) The committees will review all nominations in closed session. After a discussion of the candidates the Award Committee votes on the candidates. The voting procedures are decided by the Award Committee. If the award committee discusses a candidate coming from the institution of one of the members of the committee, this member neither is allowed to speak about this candidate, nor to vote.

(b) A copy of the minutes of the session is sent to the secretary general of GAeF.

(c) The award committee has the discretionary power to not select an awardee in any given period.

(d) The annual award consists of a certification and a donation of 2.000 € for each award. In more than one winner is chosen, the amount is divided by the number of recipients. Please, send your nominations to the chair of the award committee before May 1. The name(s) and achievements of the awardee(s) will be published on the homepage of GAeF.