top of page


The International Aerosol Fellow Award is granted to recognize outstanding contributions to Aerosol Science and Technology through research, technical development, education and service.

Nominations of candidates for the award are invited. The nominator must be a member of an IARA member society, but the nominee can be any individual, both inside and outside IARA member societies. At least three supporting letters must be included in the nomination. The nomination material has to be submitted to the Committee chair by 1 April 2022. The Committee encourages all aerosol scientists to nominate persons for this outstanding award and keep diversity in mind when considering  whom to nominate.

International Flags


2022 not presented due to missing nomination

2020 Yoshio Otani (co-winner)

2020 Stephen E. Schwartz (co-winner)

2018 Ian Colbeck (co-winner)

2018 Susan Hering (co-winner)

2016 Junji Cao (co-winner)

2016 Kaarle Hämeri (co-winner)

2014 Pratim Biswas

2012 William C. Hinds

2010 E. James Davis

2008 Charles Clement (co-winner)

2008 Gerhard Kasper (co-winner)

2006 Philip K. Hopke (co-winner)

2006 Chuen-Jinn Tsai (co-winner)

2004 Markku Kumala

2002 Denis Boulaud (co-winner)

2002 Helmuth Horvath (co-winner)

1999 Taisto Raunemaa

1998 Roger O. McClellan (co-winner)

1998 David Y.H. Pui (co-winner)

1996 James W. Gentry (co-winner)

1996 Klaus Willeke (co-winner)

1994 David Shaw (co-winner)

1994 Werner Stöber (co-winner)

1992 Wolfgang Schikarski

1990 Heinz Fissan (co-winner)

1990 Kanji Takahashi (co-winner)

bottom of page