Fuchs Award

Fuchs Memorial Award

Call for Nominations

The Fuchs Memorial Award Committee invites nominations for  the 2022 Award, to be presented at the International Aerosol Conference in Athens, Greece.

This award, established in the honor of the late Professor Nikolai Albertovich Fuchs (1895 -1982), is given every four years in recognition of exceptionally meritorius research contributions to the field of aerosol science and technology. The award is intended as a continuing recognition of Professor Fuchs`contributions to the international scientific community, as well as a means of encouraging the same high standars among contemporary scientists in conducting aerosol research.


The regulations and procedures are published on the IARA Web site, www.iara.org.The deadline for all nominating materials is May 1, 2022. Nomination material (in six copies) should be submitted to the Award Committee Chair Professor Richard C. Flagan by the deadline date.

Questions concerning the award can be addressed to the chair of the IAF Award Committee.


The Fuchs Award is jointly administrated by the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung, the Japan Association of Aerosol Science and Technology, and the American Association for Aerosol Research.

Past recipients​

1990 Sheldon K. Friedlander

1994 Benjamin Y. H. Liu (co-winner)

1994 Othmar Preining (co-winner)

1998 John H. Seinfeld

2002 Kikuo Okuyama (co-winner)

2002 A. A. Lushnikov (co-winner)

2006 Richard C. Flagan (co-winner)

2006 Peter H. McMurry (co-winner)

2010 David Y. H. Pui (co-winner)

2010 Markku Kulmala (co-winner)

2014 Doug Worsnop (co-winner)

2014 Urs Baltensperger (co-winner)

2018 Pratim Biswas (co-winner)

2018 Sotiris Pratsinis (co-winner)

About GAeF

The "Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung e.V." (GAeF) was founded in 1972 in order to promote all areas of aerosol research, to provide information on an interdisciplinary basis amongst members and the public, to provide an international forum for collaboration and support scientific education and teaching at all levels. GAeF has members from all over the world and encourages aerosol scientists to join the society.

Contact GAeF

Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung e.V.

Postfach 45 04 05

50879 Köln


e-mail: info@gaef.de

2020 - Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung e.V.