Awards 2020

Smoluchowski  Award 2020

„The Smoluchowski Award shall be given to a young researcher who has achieved and published new results in aerosol science …“

Award Committee: G. Kasper, A. Weber, K. Deppert, M. Messing, A. Teleki

Prof. Dr. Georgios A. Sotiriou

Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden

Functional particles & particle-enabled devices based on gas-phase processes for biomedical applications of clinical & toxicological relevance


2006   Diploma - National Technical University of Athens (Applied Physics)

2008  M.Sc. - ETH Zurich (Micro- & Nanosystems)

2011 Dr.Sc. - ETH Zurich (Institute of Process Engineering)

2013 - 18  Harvard School of Public Health Research Fellow / Visiting Scientist

2015 - 16  Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, ETH Zurich (Drug Formulation & Delivery)

since 2016  Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Dept. of Microbiology, Tumor & Cell Biology

Publications:  > 50 + 2 Patent Applications

Citations: ca. 3000

h-index: 27

Student Travel Support​

Schmauss Award 2020

„The Schmauss Award shall be given to a young researcher who has achieved and published new results in atmospheric aerosol science …“

Award Committee: G. Kasper, A. Weber, T. Hoffmann, A. Kürten,  B. Wehner

Asst. Prof. Dr. Claudia Mohr

Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden

Molecular composition and growth of secondary organic aerosols and related new mass-spectrometric techniques


2007 MSc. (Atmospheric Sci.), ETH Zürich and University of Colorado, Boulder

2011  PhD (Atmospheric Sciences), Paul Scherrer Institute and ETH Zürich

2011 - 14  PostDoc, University of Washington, Seattle

2014 - 17  Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

since 2017  Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental Science, Stockholm University

Publications:  67

Citations: ca. 4200 (WoS)

h-index: 34

Dr. Yafang Cheng

Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Mainz, Germany

Aerosol chemistry in haze formation, size-dependent phase transitions, and global black carbon inventories


2001   BS, Wuhan University

2007   PhD, Beijing University (Atmospheric Sci.)

2007 - 09  PostDoc, Tropos, Leipzig

2009 - 11  PostDoc, University of Iowa

2011 - 13  “100 Talent” Professor, Beijing University

2013 - 14  Visiting Scientist, MPI for Chemistry, Mainz

2014 - 17  Guest Prof., Hefei University of Science and Technology

Since 2014  Group Leader, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Mainz

Publications:  111 (41 within the last 3 yrs)

Citations: ca. 3000 (WoS)

h-index: 36

GAeF PhD Award 2020

The GAeF PhD Award is new since 2018 and granted to young scientists whose ideas have provided decisive stimulus in their area of aerosol research and who are recognized as outstanding among their peers in their field. The distinction is based on an outstanding doctoral thesis that has been submitted no more than 2 years before the call for nominations. The GAeF PhD Award can be annually awarded to a maximum of two early career scientists.

Award Committee: A. Maisser, C. Asbach, C. Mohr, O. Schmid, B. Wehner

Georgios Kelesidis

ETH Zürich

Morphology and optical properties of flame-made nanoparticles


2013 Diploma in Chemical Engineering, University of Patras, Greece

2015 MSc in Process Engineering, ETH Zurich

awarded with IBM research price for MSc thesis in Computer Modeling and Simulations in Chemistry, Biology and Material Science

2019 PhD in Mechanical and Process Engineering, ETH Zurich

awarded with the ETH Medal for outstanding PhD thesis

Best poster award at the EAC 2016 in Tours, France, and at the Material Research Society (MRS) Fall Meeting in 2019, Boston, USA

9 published publications

6 invited lectures, 20 oral conference contributions and 33 poster presentations

Forbes 30 under 30 Europe List, Science and Healthcare, Class 2020